cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

False claim

I've been selling for 23 years!  I have had about 10 buyers in the past make claims that an item "SMELLS BAD" and  hence makes a claim for item not as described for a refund/return and each returned item smelled fresh as a daisy. ..this is a cunning conniving way to  get a refund ..  As a long time seller, I know by now that each and every items needs to pass the sniff test in order to be listed..and this habitual. Once again, this is a claim from a buyer who offered me $10 off a $20 dress (I  do not take offers) and she bought it a week later and then  made this false claim and I'm pretty sure it did not fit her right as it was clearly described as running big with listed measurements..we all know that many buyers do not read... There is no way for a seller to protect herself from this...I told her that I no longer accept returns for this type of claim and I'm now awaiting my first negative in years...

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: False claim

Some people can smell the *beep* through the daisies. You may no longer accept returns for this type of claim, but Ebay does.

Message 2 of 26
latest reply

Hi @tobyjill22 

How can you be certain that the item didn’t pick up an odor in transit?

Is your sense of smell excellent?  [Mine isn’t.]

Refusing a return is risky.  If the buyer isn’t refunded by eBay … they may request a chargeback costing an extra $20.

Message 3 of 26
latest reply

@tobyjill22 

It could very well be the courier or what ever type of shipping you use.  I had an item delivered by Amazon the other day and the package (and driver) reeked of pot/marijuana.  I about caught a contact buzz.  lol.   Sorry for your situation. 

Happy Selling. 

Message 4 of 26
latest reply

It was wrapped in tissue paper inside a plastic mailer. The only thing I smell is a rat. 

It did not smell. I hope you never have to deal with this type of baloney.