eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
  • Shop Deals
Community Member

Anyone Think Ebay FEES are To HIGH?

I've been selling on ebay for almost 5 yrs. Fees seems to raise more & more, & yes i know they need money for this or that but, i wonder what the fees are gonna be in another 5 yrs? any guess? No wondering Bill in his staff always have such a big smile on their faces when they send posts. Wouldn't you?
Please use plain text.
Community Member

in reply to tamewolfe
I read somewhere here on the message board to expect somewhere around 10% combined ebay and paypal fees. I did some calculations recently, and discovered my ebay plus paypal overhead is actually 18%. That includes store listing fees and auctions, but still, I am realizing the cost of doing biz here is MUCH higher I thought.
Please use plain text.
Community Member

in reply to tamewolfe
hello

i was just wondering there are no web services such as pay pal that charge less

like www.moneybookers.com

thank you

the fees are ridiculous
Please use plain text.
Community Member

in reply to tamewolfe
Hi,
I found today ebay UK changed without any warning the fees police. the reserve price fee was refunded if item sells and now it doesnt happen... i'm very frustated eBay and paypal fees eat all my profit :-(
I'm considering leave eBay after 6 years!
Regards
Please use plain text.
Community Member

in reply to tamewolfe
lifeinblack1, how do you come up with 18%? My auctions and paypal combined is around 7%.

One thing you have to think about is traffic, you are paying ebay for the traffic as well and all the tools, boards, livechat etc. You have to look at the whole package. There are some alternatives though outside of ebay. You might make a little more money but buying traffic doesn't come easy.
Please use plain text.
Community Member

in reply to tamewolfe
Hello again.

lifeinblack1, back to your comment and my "18%" question...