cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best way to list an item in a buy it now listing?

I started out selling my items in a 10 day listing.  I've been doing a lot of ready here on eBay and I've been told to list it in a 30 day listing because it would be cheaper.  I do think it's cheaper because every time I have to re-list an item it cost me 30 cents.  I also try to use any promotions that eBay offers me.  Right now I can list up to 200,000 in a auction style with buy it now listing with no insertion fee.  Of course, it is only good for 10 days and I have to list one item at a time.  I haven't sold anything in those auctions and don't seem to be getting many views on them.  Since I'm new to selling on eBay, any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Since most bids on auctions come in the last few minutes, even seconds, a longer auction is not useful.

You may find that in your particular category, that you will do better catering to impulse buyers.

Having looked at your listings, some of your watchers, who you mentioned in another post may be just using your listings as a cheap thrill. (I personally found the "gentleman's undergarment" hilarious.)

Consider reducing your listings to 7 days, or even three days. If, as you say, you have thousands of free listings available, run some for three days and add Buy It Now, even if you have to pay for that. Free is nice, but not if it leads to a lot of work and no sales.

When the listing runs out, go to your Unsold and relist it as Sell Similar.

I wonder if you are dropshipping? If so, remember that your supplier has hundreds of customers like you and every one of them is your competitor.

Look around for local supplier of similar but less often seen products. The Yellow Pages of your city is a good place to start. The paper ones. Try the Public Library.