cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When Do I Give the Buyer a Refund On a Package Delivered Damaged?

This is my first time ever filing an insurance claim with USPS and I would greatly appreciate any help. The package arrived on Friday to my buyer with one item broken. The buyer requested a partial refund and to keep the undamaged items, but I felt like since it was a pretty good amount that I should file an insurance claim. I did so Friday, today the buyer has contacted me wanting to be refunded now. What's the normal procedure for this? I don't want to be unfair, but I will be totally depending on them to actually take the items back to the post office. This transaction has been a disaster from the beginning and I'm ready to be done with it too, but don't feel comfortable with giving a refund just yet, especially knowing that they would really like to keep the items. 

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Re: When Do I Give the Buyer a Refund On a Package Delivered Damaged?

You refund the buyer right away and then deal with the insurance.

If the buyer does not cooperate with the insurance, eBay can exude a special dispensation to salve your injury. At least that's what we've heard.

Who's attending the injured party? Are we all bringing our crutches and wheelchairs?

Message 2 of 5
latest reply

jfyi Post office may not allow buyer to keep item even if buyer is willing help you w your claim or deny claim unless there is a repair quote from a reputable source w a repair estimate

And buyers are not required to help.They can file w ebay as that their protection and return for a full refund on your dime

This is a user to user board not eBay employees.
----------------------------------------------------------------
When people show you who they are, believe them
Message 3 of 5
latest reply