cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

what in the heck is going on?

What in the heck has happened to ebay? seriously, It used to be a great selling platform. We did great on here and loved it for 18 years.   It was fun to shop and sell. Then in 2014 with  cassini, things took a nose dive. We waited three years and literally gave up. Moved to another CRAFT site. Which was great for awhile.  Now it seems a ceo from ebay has been hired there, and things have declined . Such as views. The site has also become clutterd up, and miserable.    We have been sold out to overseas sellers. Shame shame, How pathetic! any thoughts?

Message 1 of 61
latest reply
60 REPLIES 60

Re: what in the heck is going on?

Depends on what you sell. I feel like selling on eBay is reflecting how people tend to shop elsewhere.

I've been selling for around 10 years now, off and on, just to declutter my things. In 2007 people would literally buy anything - tacky shirts, poorly altered vintage dresses, jewelry from Claire's. It was seriously awesome. I assume selling was even easier 10 years prior to that.

Now people won't buy collectibles, antiques or pre-owned clothing unless you get lucky. It seems like many millenials have a different relationship with stuff than older generations - before the Internet you had to hold onto things because you couldn't replace them easily. Now you can find a bunch of different iterations of what you're looking for in 5 seconds online.

On top of that people want new, on-trend things - which is typically not what eBay provides, and not something you can find easily when confronted with millions of listings. People want to find things they want easily, and you can't do that on here. Not to mention a lot of domestic sellers tend to charge way more than they used to because of declining sales.