cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eBay is closing....!

It won't happen today or tomorrow...  but the reason eBay is going to close is that Sellers when selling are being precluded by eBay trying to make money. It's no longer an auction site, it's too regulated and Sellers are always on the hook.

So I don't sell much on eBay anymore, in fact I avoid it like the plague...  for two main reasons:

1) Their fees are ridiculous... do I need to say more.

2) eBay looking for revenue streams, to make up for lost sales, are listing other sellers items in your auction before you even get to the description of the item that you're trying to sell.

Just venting about the system and how its morphed from what it used to be, really unique, to just another site trying to make money from the small guy.

Message 1 of 54
latest reply
53 REPLIES 53

Re: eBay is closing....!

Ive been hearing the sky is falling here for twenty five years..so far, so good.

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

“Never pick a fight with an ugly person. They don’t have anything to lose.” ~Robin Williams
Message 31 of 54
latest reply

eBay's pressure and false data campaign must have succeeded with you. I don't promote, have never promoted and never will promote. None of the sales numbers in the photo below came from promoting anything.

I do sell less on eBay, but I don't sell less overall. Another site has generated all of the lost eBay sales and more, so much so that I don't list certain items here anymore. eBay is still useful to me for selling weird stuff, wholesale lots and for converting some buyers into direct buyers.

If "if you really want to sell anything you MUST promote" ever becomes a true statement, I simply won't sell here anymore.

ebay mid april 24.jpg

Message 32 of 54
latest reply

It is more regulated and that is not solely a decision by Ebay.