cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Offer higher than bid starting price

I just got an offer of $60 for something I put up for $40. I'm well aware of the people that do this saying "kindly text/email me" yada yada are scammers. But this person didn't leave any comment, and their account shows they've sold/bought things before. Is it still a red flag?

Also if I'm new to eBay is bidding not really viable since my rep is so low?

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

Re: Offer higher than bid starting price

Only a scammer would offer more than asking.

Message 2 of 18
latest reply

I guess I am confused. The make offer button is available for buyers to use. I believe once you get a bid, tha make offer button is inactive. You may not get any bids or none for more than $40.00.

If the price if fair, I would consider accepting the offer. You may have a sale.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

Sellers generally start an auction at the lowest they will accept so the make an offer for auctions is often more than the starting price.  The buyer may think that the item will be bid up higher if they wait for people to bed. If you do accept the offer and THEN they want you to text your PayPal address, it is a scam.

Message 4 of 18
latest reply

Offer higher than bid starting price

You used the terms "bid" and "starting price". My assumptions are that this is an auction; that someone made an offer higher than the starting price of the auction; and that the buyer made the offer through the eBay system

When someone offers higher than the starting price of an auction, it is generally because they are worried that other bidders will drive the price higher than they want to pay. 

They are hoping you will decide that a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush. IMHO there is nothing scammy about it, unless my assumptions at the top are wrong. 

Message 5 of 18
latest reply