cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insane Seller Fees

I deal in coins. I've been using EBAY for 18 years. After my last 2 items sold, I AM DONE.

13.5% plus seller fees! Sold 2 items for $1,200 total and was charged $164. +

I guess I will be buying and selling at coin shows now. 

I AM DONE FOR GOOD "EBAY".

Message 1 of 52
latest reply
51 REPLIES 51

Insane Seller Fees

@jims6832 wrote:

I deal in coins. I've been using EBAY for 18 years. After my last 2 items sold, I AM DONE.

13.5% plus seller fees!  Sold 2 items for $1,200 total and was charged $164. +

I guess I will be buying and selling at coin shows now. 

I AM DONE FOR GOOD "EBAY".

You are a long time seller so it is surprising that you weren't aware of the Seller Fees and their rate.  

While Ebay is not the cheapest site to sell on, it most certainly isn't the most expensive either.

I wish you well in whatever you decide to do.

mam98031  •  Volunteer Community Member  •  Buyer/Seller since 1999
Message 2 of 52
latest reply

Insane Seller Fees

Listing your wares on eBay is free, selling your wares is not. 
From the tone of your post I can guess that you didn't read up on sellers fees, that is on you. eBay is very transparent about their fees. 
Also when you list the listing form tells you that you will be charged a final value fee when your item sells. 
Hope you are also aware that since you are a new or infrequent seller the funds you earned for those 2 sales can be held for up to 30 days. Payout holds are also in eBay's policies. Look it up in Help and contact in any eBay page. 
Announcing your departure isn't necessary.

Best of luck where ever you go  IMG_1412.jpeg

Message 3 of 52
latest reply

Insane Seller Fees

Fees are public information and shouldn’t be a big surprise and easy to figure, unless your final selling price was much higher than expected which should be a good thing.

Message 4 of 52
latest reply

Insane Seller Fees