cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Good Til Cancelled HUGE Negative Effect

Sales off, period and not a little but A LOT!  ebay can make up any stupid reason why "they" determined it best for me to have GTC listings rather than my 5 day Buy It Now listings, but they are wrong.  I have been selling here for over 20 years and have fine tuned my selling practices.  The silver bullet for me WAS a 5 day Buy It Now with immediate payment required.  This gave me a NEWLY LISTED boost along with an ENDING SOON boost all within a 5 day rotation with guaranteed received payment. 

GTC is useless to me.  It gives buyers no urgency to make a purchase if they do not see that the listing has an end date.  I tried a few 5 day auctions and guess what - I had no pays, had to wait to get my final value fee back and wasted a listing.  I do not have extra time to HOPE buyers will pay and that is why I only used the Buy It Now 5 day w/ immediate payment.   With that scenario I could ship right away because everything was paid for right away.  A win win for me, ebay and the buyer.  A fast sale with fast delivery to the buyer and fast income to me and ebay.

Is there a flaw in that model?

Auctions may work for high volume sellers that do this for a living with nickel and dime items from god knows where, but not for me.  I will continue to use my 50 free listings and that will be it.  I have scaled way back my personal hunt for specialty, hard to find items that I sold here which will only hurt ebay in the long run. Buyers will loose interest in ebay if the only things they can find here are dollar store items or Wally World items that they can get right down the street.

Wonder who the rocket scientist was with a 50 cent degree that came up with this lame decision?

Dumb move ebay.

Message 1 of 45
latest reply
44 REPLIES 44

Re: Good Til Cancelled HUGE Negative Effect