cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you use Computer Software and Financial Formulas to Sell and Make More Profit?

Hello ebay community!

I am currently a full-time student and part time reseller working on my last accounting major university course and am running an investigation regarding full time online resellers. There are four questions that I have for full time resellers.

1. Do you use any computer software or applications to help run your business? i.e Excel, Quickbooks, Inventory management software, Google trends or any tools the platform enables such as eBay terrapeak?
  2. Which ones do you use?
  3. Do you use any financial formulas such as sell through rate, cost of goods sold or any others to help with sourcing products or with managing any aspect of your business? If so, which one/s do you use?
  4. Lastly, what is your yearly profit range (after expenses) within your reselling business? Here is the tier list to use for answering this question. Within which bracket did you fall under?

theolchapscandy_0-1713656035620.png

Please Note: Profit or Net Income is specifically needed for the purposes of proving or disproving the hypothesis within the investigation. This is not a measurement of success.

As an example. In my case, I currently use Excel for inventory management, keep tracking for Cost of Goods Sold and as a return on investment calculator to know how much an item will profit me after deductions such as seller fees, before purchasing the item.

This year I started to use Quickbooks to keep track of my accounting. I also started to use MileIQ to record the miles I travel when doing business trips.

For financial formulas, I have now started using Sell Through Rate, Return on Investment, Return on Asset, Cost of Goods Sold and Asset Turnover Ratio.

I netted / made profits within the $10,000.01 - $30,000.00 range last year while working as a reseller full-time.