cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer wants a refund but the money is withheld by ebay

Hello I sold a jacket for around 300 dollars a few days ago. I was a bit late on shipping the item so the funds were held from me till the 29th. Now the buyer wants to return and get a refund. Here's my question since the funds are still withheld from me, will ebay send that money back or will I have to use money in my bank account, this is my first time and I'm very stressed any help will be great

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Buyer wants a refund but the money is withheld by ebay

I believe the money would come out of your bank account or CC you have on file. When the held money is released, it will be sent to you and make you even so to speak. Has the buyer opened a request yet or just asking?

"I'm for truth no matter who tells it. I'm for JUSTICE no matter who it is for or against." - Malcolm X
"Dante once said that the hottest places in hell are reserved for those who in periods of moral crisis maintain their neutrality." - JOHN F. KENNEDY
Message 2 of 9
latest reply

If you don't have available funds, then ebay will charge your alternate payment method on file( bank account or credit card) to settle the return.

Message 3 of 9
latest reply

They opened a request already. this is so strerssfull 

Message 4 of 9
latest reply

No need to worry about refunds just yet. Here is what you do. 

1. Accept the return within 3 business days 

2. You pay for a return label with tracking and send it to the buyer 

3. Buyer sends back the item. This might take a while. You will probably get the item back well after March 29 and the hold on your funds is released depending how quick the buyer decides to drop it off at the PO and how fast the PO is in shipping it back to you. 

4. Refund the Buyer within 3 business days 

Message 5 of 9
latest reply

@venom90_907 wrote: