cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I being scammed by a buyer?

Anonymous
Not applicable

I shipped an item in perfect condition. It is a pewter statue (a very soft metal). The item was completely encased in bubble wrap and secure inside packaging. After several weeks the buyer contacted me saying the item arrived damaged with a small dent and demanded I return their money or they would open an issue. I’m new to eBay and that seemed odd to me. It’s not a light or inexpensive item. I can find no help from eBay directly. If this is common then I think I’m done with trying to sell on eBay. First experience selling has been horrible and costly to me. I think a local flea market vendor is a better option. 

Message 1 of 19
latest reply
18 REPLIES 18

@Anonymous wrote:

I shipped an item in perfect condition. It is a pewter statue (a very soft metal). The item was completely encased in bubble wrap and secure inside packaging. After several weeks the buyer contacted me saying the item arrived damaged with a small dent and demanded I return their money or they would open an issue. I’m new to eBay and that seemed odd to me. It’s not a light or inexpensive item. I can find no help from eBay directly. If this is common then I think I’m done with trying to sell on eBay. First experience selling has been horrible and costly to me. I think a local flea market vendor is a better option. 

Do not EVER yield to a threat. Your one and only response is "I'm sorry for the problem. Feel free to return it for a full refund". If they open a case they are required to include a picture of the damage/reason for return. Do not continue to respond to their emails. If they open a case send a prepaid return label. IF the item is genuinely damaged then a return is justified. IF this is just a scam to get a refund they will not send it back and unless they open a case just turn a deaf ear..

Message 2 of 19
latest reply