cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer misusing ebay returns

I have been selling on and off on ebay UK since 2005 and the majority of sales go through without any issue. This week I listed an old Samsung tablet that is fully functional. As a private seller I have selected no returns. Two days after the buyer receives the tablet, they file a not working not matching description. I messaged the buyer to find out what is wrong to see if I could help. The buyer states they cannot get on the internet. I gave them instructions but they came back stating they are experts, just give me a refund. I am suspecting the buyer is misusing the returns to have me the seller pay for the return.  I asked for pictures to show the WIFI page and as it happened the buyer is only a few miles away, I even offered to visit and help show them how to set it up. The buyer came back with I have not got the time. Please sort this now. I have sent them a returns label and I guess I have to take this on the chin and be out of pocket because ebay sides with buyers, even when they are blatantly abusing the returns.  Once I hopefully get the tablet back, I will be out of pocket for two shipping costs.

A thought, if I sent the buyer a private invoice outside ebay and demand the shipping cost be paid, should the invoice not be settled I will pass this to a small claims court. What thoughts do others have on how to beat the bad buyers, as ebay will not help, it’s a point of principal. Without sellers there are no buyers.

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Buyer misusing ebay returns

Hi @wotnot101 

The tablet apparently didn’t function as expected … regardless of whether the buyer’s expectations were realistic.

I’m very sorry this happened … but it’s usually best just to accept the return and move on.  You’re not likely to get the satisfaction you’re hoping for by trying to outsmart the buyer.

Message 2 of 7
latest reply