cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Postcards

Help! My mother recently passed away. I've found a huge collection of PCs, at least 10,000. Some are postmarked, some are not. They range from 1903 to the 2020s. Any subject you can think of. My question is: Because I have no knowledge of PCs and am finding researching these cards overwhelming, should I sell them all together? In the long run do you think it would be worth selling them one at a time? That seems like an impossible thing to do. Any opinions or advice is appreciated. Merry Christmas.

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Postcards

Selling them one at a time is probably going to be more time consuming than it is worth.

While I am not a postcard collector, I would suggest selling them in lots, such as similar landmarks, or cities, or states, or subject matter -- you get the idea, right?

But you may also have some pricey items in your collection -- hopefully, some of the eBay postcard collectors will check in soon, to give you some more qualified ideas.

Good luck!

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

Postcards

There are many postcard dealers around who would probably buy the entire lot for the right price.  Or you could consider listing them in groups of say 1,000 as @1786davycrockett suggests, grouped by categories.  If you don't want to try and figure out pricing, I'd suggest listing as an auction.   The more recent ones won't be as desirable in most cases. 

Rita

Message 3 of 7
latest reply

Postcards

As a start, sort through and set aside RPPC (real photo postcards B&W). A good chance that any high value cards will live in there. Look for street scenes, motorcycles/cars/planes/Halloween etc and so on. Anything truly unusual. If you have that many cards take your time to ferret out the good ones. Pretty floral cards etc are mostly unwanted.

Message 4 of 7
latest reply

Postcards