cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can Anyone Please Tell Me What This Is Or What It's Used For?

Hello, I was hoping someone might be able to tell me what this is. It's very heavy and I think it's marble, but I'm not sure.

It's 11 1/2 inches long, 10 inches wide and 2 1/2 inches tall. The circular depression is about 1 inch deep. It's too shallow to be called a bowl. It doesn't look like an ash tray or a mortar. The top is smooth and polished while the underside is rough. It has green felt on the bottom.

I got it at an estate sale and believe it's at least 60 years old. Can anyone please tell me what it is or what it was used for? Thanks so much!DSCN0976.JPGDSCN0977.JPGDSCN0979.JPGDSCN0980.JPGDSCN0981.JPG

Message 1 of 26
latest reply
25 REPLIES 25

Re: Can Anyone Please Tell Me What This Is Or What It's Used For?

@argon38 wrote:

Onyx for the material?

That's likely.  I'm not good at telling the two (onyx, marble) apart in photographs, but the unpolished part does look more like onyx that marble.

Message 16 of 26
latest reply

I think it was intended as an ashtray. But with fewer smokers out there, it's good that it is missing the indents.

I would sell it as a "key drop" to put by the front door and take a photo of it with a key ring and some change in it. It could also be used as a Valet Dish or Valet Tray for a man's dresser to empty his pockets at night. Would make a nice Christmas gift.

Message 17 of 26
latest reply

That's an ashtray!  And isn't it lovely that we now live in a time when it isn't automatically identified as such?  Such a nasty habit and I remember well when non-smokers had no rights.  Smoke everywhere (planes, movie theaters, etc.) and never an apology for such.

Debora

Message 18 of 26
latest reply

@maxine*j wrote:

@lacemaker3 wrote:

A chopping bowl for use with a mezzaluna (half-moon) knife?