cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seller requesting PayPal to send back a purchase

I’ve been having issues with the seller of an item that I recently bought. They sent me a counterfeit item and I have been going through the process of trying to return it. After being sent a fake return address and having eBay step in, the seller finally sent me what looks to be a real address. They are asking that I provide them with my PayPal number so that they can cover the shipping costs. The item is being sent to China from the US.

I’m very new to eBay (this was my first ever purchase), so I don’t really know how this stuff works. Is this safe? Is it possible that they could charge back and I would be stuck with the shipping costs?

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

This is exactly what you need to do.

Send them you PayPal address so they can send you money to ship the item.

klhmdg  •  Volunteer Community Mentor
Message 2 of 13
latest reply

Yes, this is the way it works for ebay returns with int'l sellers. You need to get the amount necessary from the carrier to ship it back with tracking. Also calculate your paypal fees that it will cost you for receiving the money through paypal and add that in too. Then send a request for that amount to the seller. I would tell the seller to send the money using you paypalme link and not giving them the email address. After receiving the money buy the label and ship the item back before the ebay deadline.

Message 3 of 13
latest reply

If you give them your Paypal email address, verify that they actually sent the money to cover return shipping. 

You want to make sure that you didn't receive a fake payment that appears to be from PP. 

albertabrightalberta
Volunteer Community Mentor

Message 4 of 13
latest reply