cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to do if I suspect a fake?

Hi Folks,

I was using n.s.sherlock's ebay article "Coin Fake Detection - Valid Trade Dollar Types" to check some trade dollars currently listed.  I found one that is very obviously a fake according to that document.  Obviously I will not bid on the item, but is it usual to then report the listing?  I'm pretty new to ebay, and am not a professional coin collector by any means, so I don't want to do the wrong thing here.

-femtolady

Message 1 of 27
latest reply
26 REPLIES 26

Re: What to do if I suspect a fake?

@fforce wrote:

YES THEY ARE LOSING SALES ON THE BAD ITEMS AND E-BAY PEOPLE NEEDED TO WORK ON THESE PROBLEMS AND THAT ALSO COST .ITS NOW OPEN SEASON ON BUYERS WHO DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY ARE BUYING

Amen.

Message 16 of 27
latest reply

I'm trying to fill in some of the holes in my Lincoln cent collection and have recently been looking on Ebay for a 1914D. I'd heard that this coin was often counterfeited, so I did some research before I started bidding.

One of the more common forgeries is the altered 1944D. Whenever I see someone listing one of these, I contact them and try to explain the situation in a non-threatening manner. Most of those that I've contacted have been receptive and, more often than not, will remove the listing or add a disclaimer. Others are defiant and, with apparently little or no knowledge of the subject, they remain convinced that the coin is NOT a fake because "We don't sell fakes!". With people like this I simply recommend that they should not take my word for it but instead do a bit of research on their own and see what they find. I've never contacted Ebay because I don't believe it's a very high priority for them, and I don't like wasting my time.

My most recent experience was with item 141456210601, which had about 10 different bidders and ended up selling for $152. Wow! 

Message 17 of 27
latest reply