cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seller includes an additional shipping cost in the description of the item

Hi!

I'm new to ebay and bid in some auctions of the same seller. The prices were reasonable and the shipping costs as well. Checking the description I see that they charge an extra 6£ (that doubles the shipping costs) to some countries: Spain, Russia, Mexico and Brasil. (I'm in Spain).

Ebay policy and rules are unclear but I don't think it is legitimate to charge a mandatory extra shipping cost and hid it in the description.

I talked to ebay using the chat and the lady said it was alright because its an international transaction. Spain is part of the EU and not a separate entity in terms of trading partners so I don't see how the extra would be applied to Spain and not to Portugal, for example. In addition, this extra is not listed as international fees or anything, it is listed in a section titled mandatory tracking but the actual reason why they charge the extra to these countries is not mentioned.

Could someone help me? If I were to win these auctions and they do send an invoice with the extra shipping cost, what can I do? Do I have to pay? Can I cancel the order? Is this practice legitimate? I truly doubt it

Thank you! 

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

I do not know, but I can guess on some things. Some people may ship to specific Countries, but only with shipping services providing extra Insurance, Tracking# etc, etc.. These things do cost extra. And maybe the seller have had bad experiences earlier to some specific locations, so he/she can have some precautions and for extra security.

Do you have to pay for your won item(s)? Well, yes, of course.