cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! Buyer requesting return of new/perfect item they now claim is "damaged"

I have been selling on eBay for 8 years, and have never had an issue until last week...

I sold a brand new, with tags, pristine condition designer bag to someone.  

While the auction was occuring the person who ended up buying the item contacted me a couple of times, asking multiple times what was the "lowest price" I would sell the bag for, and then prodding for free shipping.  I held out and they ended up winning the auction.  I also state that I do not accept returns - and have never been asked to accept one.

SO - a couple hours after USPS says the bag was delivered, I get a return request from the buyer.  They're claiming over and over again that the item I shipped them has "stains/discolorations" on it and is not in the same condition as the photos.

I checked the item over before I shipped it to quadruple check everything was perfect, and it was shipped in a dust bag and with lots of tissue padding.  My listing also had tons of super detailed close up pictures, and I checked everything over and over again - NO issues!  It was sent in pristine condition.  

And the buyer is insisting now that the moment they unpacked it, there were "discolorations" on the item.

I called eBay, and they weren't much help.  

I have tried to resolve by asking the buyer questions and letting them know repeatedly that the item I shipped them had no problems.  They keep claiming that they cannot keep the item.  

I need to be protected here -  how would it even be possible to insure that the item that is shipped back to me is the item that I shipped out to this person in the first place?  Furthermore, considering that I am 100% CERTAIN that I shipped them a pristine item, and they are now claiming this item has "damages" on it, how could I accept a high-priced item that was damaged on their watch?