cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyers being able to "rate" shipping cost on a "calculated shipping" listing, should they be able?

So I've been slowly building this store for this particular company, but I'm not new to Ebay. I've been selling here for 23 years actually. Since starting this store I've listed every listing with "calculated shipping". Some of the items are heavy and are better suited for UPS/FEDEX etc and calculated is the only way to A) keep it fair, and B) not have to worry about manually changing shipping charges. However on our ratings, we have a 4.6 for shipping charges, our lowest rating of all categories. My question is, should buyers be able to "rate" this category if shipping is "calculated"? If shipping is "Free", the option to rate it is grayed out / unavailable. Shouldn't it be the same way for calculated? We're not in control of those prices. We enter the dimensions and weights accurately and Ebay calculates it. So it's not like we're ripping anyone off.  

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

Buyers being able to "rate" shipping cost on a "calculated shipping" listing, should they be able?

1.) the 'ratings' mean nothing

2.) the 'ratings' don't matter

3.) buyers seldom look at 'ratings'

But; since buyers are allowed to- if a buyer has to pay $26 for shipping an item, or $83 for shipping an item- they have the right to NOT be happy about it. Free shipping; although NOT really free- eliminates that issue.

Message 2 of 12
latest reply

Buyers see shipping cost before they press the buy button, if they don't like those cost, they don't have to buy. So really, they don't have any reason to complain about that cost, they knew in advance what they were going to be. After the item is bought, the shipping cost is locked in. 

Message 3 of 12
latest reply

@crosscomponents wrote: