cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is Paypal and Ebay allowing customers to use credit card chargebacks to get items for free??

I don't understand how it is legal for a customer to keep an item they purchased and then file a credit card dispute and get their money back?  Why is this not covered under seller protection?  I am not a big seller, but I have been selling for 10 years on Ebay.  I had a customer who wished to return an item because it didn't fit with what she wanted.  I told her she could return it, however since there was nothing wrong with it, she would have to pay for the return shipping.  3 weeks later, she files a credit card dispute.  I just got a note from Paypal saying the amount was deducted from my account along with a $20 fee.  So now I am out the $60 item, the shipping I paid, ($25.00) AND the $20 fee, AND the item.  Wonderful to know, that customers can just click one thing on their credit card menu, and "Poof" get their money back and keep item, "YAY"!  Is there anyway for a seller to report a customer for credit card fraud???  This effects ALL sellers, so it would be nice to have some recourse here.

Message 1 of 22
latest reply
21 REPLIES 21

Re: Why is Paypal and Ebay allowing customers to use credit card chargebacks to get items for free??

@missjen831 wrote:

@ed8108 wrote:

Wouldn't the credit card company require a buyer to return the item to the seller for the chargeback to be successful ?

For the most part, the CC company just wants to see that the buyer attempted to return the item. 

Then failure on the part of the buyer to supply satisfactory documentation of an attempt to return the item, should result in a chage back not being approved until such an attempt is undertaken by the buyer ?

Message 16 of 22
latest reply

Re: Why is Paypal and Ebay allowing customers to use credit card chargebacks to get items for free??

File mail fraud on her.