cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why did my item get removed when others are able to still sell the same thing?

I received a violation notification and my item was removed but yet others are still selling the exact same thing. It was a tactical pen with window breaker tip. 
I’m still learning the ways but curious as to who decides what and why it’s not across the board. 

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Maybe the words in your listing were more likely to trigger an enforcement bot. Maybe the bot has not reached the other listings.

This site is sufficiently large that nothing can be done instantly.

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

It is not a "who" that decides, it is an "it".

These listing takedowns are done by bot. No human intervention. 

Your listing could have been reported by multiple members or a member with many accounts.

There perhaps was something in your Title, Item Specifics or Description that triggered the takedown.

Just don't keep relisting the item or they will take down your account completely.

Posting ID
Message 3 of 11
latest reply

You were just unlucky and were noticed by the ebay bots. Do not try to relist it or you could lose your right to selling. You do not want that to happen. They are watching you now. Once your on their radar they will be checking your listings. Happy selling.

Message 4 of 11
latest reply

The fact that your listing had been flagged means that you do NOT want to try and relist it...it doesn't matter if other sellers are still able to have the same item listed... it's the fact that YOUR listing is the one that got flagged.

I know that it's not fair, however, if you try to relist it, the consequences can escalate up to and including being permanently banned from selling on this site and once they ban you, they almost never reverse that decision.

Just don't relist it, it's just not worth it.

Good luck on selling here

Message 5 of 11
latest reply