cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Seller Bids, Retracts 5 Times, Gets Top Bid, and then Backs Out and Can't Retract Anymore. ??

I'm new to eBay, so I'm not totally sure how the bidding process looks on the buyer's end. But I've been trying to sell a unit that caused a bidding battle between two buyers. One of the buyers kept bidding and then retracting his bid over and over again a few hours later. It seemed like he was being very indecisive; he kept messaging me about the product and ultimately decided to back out as the highest bidder (after retracting and then bidding five times) 20 MINUTES before the bid closes! He now wants me to contact the second-highest bidder (his former opponent). Can I do this? How do I do this? Can I create an offer for the second-place bidder?  I want to make sure I follow all of eBay's policies and make sure the retracting-buyer isn't charged, etc. Please help. Thank you. 

Message 1 of 37
latest reply
36 REPLIES 36

Seller Bids, Retracts 5 Times, Gets Top Bid, and then Backs Out and Can't Retract Anymore. ??

Oh, I should also add that he sent me a screenshot just minutes ago saying that eBay "can't find any items" that exist or are eligible for retraction. Not sure what to think/do. Any help would be appreciated!

Message 2 of 37
latest reply

If he is the high bidder cancel his bid using the buyer requested it.  Block them from bidding on your items again. You can then either send the other bidder a second chance offer or relist it. 

With that kind of bid history going on, I would relist and not offer it to the second bidder. It looks really suspicious due to what your first bidder did. 

The Race is over
The Rats won.
Message 3 of 37
latest reply

Personally I would go and block the bidder right away.  They are acting pretty fishy.  I wouldn't risk it.

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/resolving-buyer-issues/blocking-buyer-ebay?id=4082