cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question on Final Value Fees and Credit

Hi, please excuse my post if it's in the wrong section or anything like that as it is my first time posting on these forums...

My question regards eBay's Final Value Fees. I understand it somewhat. For things I sell (mainly electronics) I see a roughly 10% fee that's invoiced at the end of the month.

However, I've recently "sold" a laptop for around 150.00. It's been about a week and I haven't received payment and so I've opened up an unpaid item case.However, I'm already seeing the roughly $15 fee eBay's ready to invoice. 

To my understanding, if the buyer doesn't end up paying, I get a final value fee credit or something like that, which I can then use on what exactly?  If I sell the laptop again for 150 to another buyer, will the credit just cover that fee and therefore cancel out? Does it get removed from the invoice? Will I see two fees on the invoice?

Help is appreciated. Thank you.  

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

@omnia_x  Hello!  If you the buyer does not pay in 4 days and the unpaid case is closed then you will immediately recieve the $15 refund,  You should see it immediately in your activity ledger where it sounds you are already familiar with.

Good Luck with your new selling account!

Happy 2018! May this upcoming year be a prosperous one!
Message 2 of 6
latest reply

Welcome @omnia_x. Have you ever returned an item to a store that you had charged to your credit card? The statement shows the initial charge of $15.00 then has a separate line item for the return -$15.00 where the amount is credited back. The two transactions zero each other out.

You can learn more about eBay fees here:

http://pages.ebay.com/help/sell/fees.html

Message 3 of 6
latest reply