cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question for tax time

Hi all 😀 I hope everyone had a great new years. I am new to selling on eBay and I was just curious if anyone had an answer to my questions regarding tax season. By any chance during tax season does ebay automatically send out a form for sellers for when we file taxes? Or is this something we figure out on our own? Just curious if anyone could guide me in the right direction for what I note for taxes and what forms I would need. Just wanna cover my bases. Thank you everyone 😀 

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Question for tax time

EBay has nothing to do with when you "file" your taxes. EBay potentially provides a 1099 that is used as part of your tax preparation process just like the other forms you receive, W-2, 1099-INT, SSA.......... If you have never filed taxes before you should probably talk to a tax advisor or utilize one of the tax preparation companies. Without knowing a lot of your personal information regarding your finances, which is not something you would want to post on a public forum, any advice or guidance would simply be guessing based on assumptions. 

You can pull information regarding your 2023 tax year sales from the eBay reports to help you pull together your deductions. The other deductions and expenses will need to come from your own financial accounting records. 

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Question for tax time

EBAY has "easy to read" 1-page report which shows YTD totals for (orders, refund, EBAY fees, shipping expense).   You must file as a "business" if you want to deduct expenses (cost of goods sold, EBAY fees, returned merchandise, cost of shipping labels, mileage, packaging/office supplies, etc).   Anything used for your business is tax deductible.

Information you will need to give to your accountant:

- EBAY YTD Report (orders, refunded merchandise, EBAY fees, shipping expense).