cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible Mac/Apple ID scammer

I've never posted here before, and I've been selling stuff since 2003 - hello 👋

I am working with a very erratic buyer and I want to get eyes on this to see if anything similar has happened out there.

I've sold probably 50 or more Mac computers with no issues within the last 20 years, but this buyer insists that the Apple ID previously connected with the device is preventing her from setting up the computer.

This was a red flag. Whenever I sell a Mac it is wiped clean, unlinking "find my", clearing data, etc so I can sell it. It's a standard process and I've done it a ton of times. Regardless I assured her that I verified that the account in fact was not linked to the machine (it's not).

I've gone back and forth with her about it and she insists that the laptop must be "stolen" and that I must refund her immediately. I sent her a pdf of the receipt and a shot I took of the Mac's initial setup screen to prove it was ready to sell. 

She'd already done a refund request. I offered a small partial refund in good faith for the trouble she had (she left me hanging for a while so I assumed she was good to go.)

But tonight it's back to "it stolen, gimme me a refund immediately!!". So I asked her to do another refund request since the partial refund was not warranted. Of course, given her bizarre behavior I'm very concerned that the Mac I get back will not be in the condition it was sent. 

I am also worried that she could use this as an excuse rip us off by elevating it to eBay who might give her a refund and allow her to keep the Mac. We'd be out $800.

Has this happened to anyone?

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Hi there,

If it was me, I would have her open a return request, send her a label and have her ship it back. I never do partial refunds and unless it is a low value item, I don't do refunds till I have the item(s) back.