cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for professional seller opinions - Sure I'm a moron.

Being relatively skilled in another profession, I'm well-aware of the Dunning-Kruger Effect.

So on that note: I'm dipping my toes into serious ebay selling and I have a business plan that I think seems good - but as a newbie, I'm sure I'm missing unseen pitfalls due to my ignorance.

I've sold random stuff on ebay for a while - things I have around the house, got for cheap, from friends, from deceased relatives at either no or low cost. After that stuff ran out, I made a few handmade goods and sold those for a decent profit - at very least my materials cost + time.

However, I've decided to get into retail - I already have all the legal stuff - a business entity, tax papers, and connections to some distributors, etc. I've found a few niche key items that are low volume, but decent profit - since the vast majority of others items seem to be selling for wholesale +/- a few bucks. These items also coincide with my hand-crafted goods, so I can use unsold merchandise to make hand-crafted stuff for ebay/etsy.

The distributors I've found vary quite widely in their retail discount - ranging from 40%-55%. From my math, the ones that are only offering 40%, with the exception of a few niche or very very low volume items, will be unsellable online in general. I'm not even sure where some people are getting their goods, as they're selling them new at 30-40% of retail price and free shipping. It's a bit baffling.

My own situation is pretty relaxed. I can live off of no money for quite a while - so making little or no money at first is something i basically expect to happen. I figure it will just be a 'learning' phase. So with that in mind - I'm not going to be investing in $1000 worth of some seemingly profitable product on a whim. So while I expect it to be rocky at first, I'm hoping to eventually build up to a liveable income.