cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to avoid scammers!

Good morning all!

I am new to selling on Ebay, and already I'm having a positively terrible experience.  I have had no less than FOUR buyers purchase my items in the last 24 hours, then immediately message me.  Three have messaged saying they "have a question" and want me to text them.  One messaged and wanted my email address and PayPal account information.  I told all four "no," and have reported two of them so far.  One resulted in my listing being deleted by Ebay because the person is a known scammer!  I'm selling clothes here people, not anything fancy and I wasn't born in a barn yesterday.  

By now many of you reading are probably wondering why I am asking the same question dozens before me have asked.  Trust me, I searched the community first before posting this question.  I have all my listings set to "buy now."  I went to my account setting to change my settings to only accept orders from the US and from individuals who have a US based PayPal account.  However, those options are not appearing for me.  Ebay is only allowing me to provide my bank account info, not my PayPal info.  Instead, there is a giant banner saying they are no longer allowing PayPal info and you have to provide a bank account.  Am I missing a setting somewhere that allows me to select "only sell to US buyers?"  Also, does that really prevent scammers?  There are plenty of US based scammers out there.  Am I better to not allow offers on my items?  Or, if someone buys it, am I better to message them first and make sure they are legit?

Like I said, I'm new to selling on Ebay, but other platforms I've used have never had this much trouble.  I just want to sell some clothes, make some money, and pay off some debt.  I'm not looking to get rich here, just a girl trying to resell clothes...smh...  Seriously, a huge thank you in advance to anyone who can help me out!!!!

Message 1 of 9