cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HOW ARE SELLERS ABLE TO SELL WITH ZERO SHIPPING COST??

I've been selling on Ebay for many years.   But I've always had to charge for shipping charges based on the size of the item, and it has not gotten any cheaper.  I am amazed at how many sellers are now offering items on Ebay with zero shipping charges!   How do they do this? And some of these items are heavy and not small!    What is it I am not understanding here???

Message 1 of 31
latest reply
30 REPLIES 30

I always thought that it was common knowledge that they add the cost of shipping to their asking price.  And if it is a weight based shipping, the cost added to the price is based on the farthest it could conceivably go within the U.S.

If it works, sell it. If it works well, sell it for more. If it doesn't work, quadruple the price and sell it as an antique.

-- Ferengi Rule of Acquisition #80
Message 2 of 31
latest reply

How are their prices?  They may be incorporating the shipping into the price.

Message 3 of 31
latest reply

So far, the prices seem reasonable.. That is why I don't understand how they are doing that, unless they are making such a good profit that they are eating their shipping costs....

Message 4 of 31
latest reply

Of course these sellers are covering the cost of shipping in their asking price, plus the cost of acquisition, etc. as well.  They aren't losing money on their sales.  I have been listing almost all my items with Free Shipping included. 

Plus, there are little things that can help certain sellers in this way.  I live in the middle of the country, so closer to ship to the nation's most populated areas than if I lived on one coast and had to ship to the other.