cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot sell novelty money anymore under the US Novelty Paper Money category.

I tried to relist another group of novelty money bills that I have been selling for a few years, but now a red warning banner pops up stating that it is prohibited under the "replica coins and currency" policy. 

I am listing it under the Novelty Money category, They are obviously fake, my listing title states SATIRE and FAKE MONEY, and there are literally thousands of other funny money listings posted the novelty money category.

I had a long chat with customer service, they say I have to abide by the UK's forgery & counterfeiting act of 1981. Even though I have excluded UK from mailing. They also say the fake money needs to be small size with printing on only one size.

This is absurd.  

Screenshot_4.pngScreenshot_3.png

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Well, dang - I did what you suggested, removed the words fake money from the title and replaced it with the word novelty, and Voilà ! It is now listed. Thanks for the tip.

10 POLITICAL SATIRE BILLS vintage 1990's NOVELTY clinton monica lewinski | eBay

View Best Answer in original post

Message 20 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

If eBay says you can’t list it, then don’t list it.
They don’t allow replicas of currency on their site. Replica Coins and Currency Policy.  

Just because you see other sellers selling replicas or fake currency, it doesn’t mean it’s ok , they just haven’t been caught yet. 

If you see others listing those items feel free to report them, there’s a report link in every listing. 

Message 2 of 21
latest reply

I'm glad they don't allowed it. At least what you've shown doesn't look like real money. I've seen what they call "prop money" or "motion picture money" that could easily fool people. These FAKES have Grant, Franklin and other photos on them and they look darned real!