cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bookkeeping Question

I hope this question isn't too foolish. I'm relatively new to the process of keeping track of transaction details. I'm using a spreadsheet and, before I get too far into the year and have to fix something, I want to make sure I understand.

Ebay takes care of sales tax on the backend and then we get a form at the end of the year showing how much tax they charged and paid a seller's transactions. Am I correct in my understanding?

And, if that's true, is there any reason for me to record the tax amounts on each transaction in my sheet when I'l just get the  tax form from them later? It seems the only thing I really need to track are cost of item, sales price, and transaction fees. Right? 

Thanks!

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Bookkeeping Question

This is a sample of a 'simple' spreadsheet i use for a smaller account....

reading left to right these numbers are simply copied from the order details page.

Sale is the TOTAL Sale (item + shipping)...Item is the item price..Sales Tax (is actual)... Total is Sale (-) Sales Tax...then we have the formulas....

(-) Fees...Net Sale....(-)Shipping...and the NET for this listing...

I happen to know the cost of each item for this worksheet, so it is on there, too. All the rest is just percentages for me

!ebay-excel.jpg

all of these in this format are also available from ebay Reports in an excel form you can manipulate to your liking...

I just chose to do this "Lot" like this.....

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

There are no, well almost no, foolish questions. Sales tax is irrelevant for you from your book keeping perspective since as you stated eBay collects that from the buyer and remits it to the appropriate state. It is money you never receive or disburse.