cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1099K doesn't match Financial Statement

So I'll preface by saying I live in Massachusetts where I get a 1099K comes every year regardless of sales volume.

This is my first year where eBay is sending me one though instead of Paypal. Paypal's 1099Ks used to match my own records perfectly. eBay's doesn't. In fact, the 1099K doesn't even match eBay's own monthly financial statements.

In January, for example, the 1099K says my gross was $863.83.

When you add up all of my transactions for that month (not including the tax automatically remitted by eBay, which I know the 1099K doesn't include), you get $949.82. eBay's full financial statement from January as well as my own spreadsheet support this.

I did give one refund that month for $43.82 but that doesn't explain the discrepancy.

More baffling, some months actually do match their financial statements and my own spreadsheet perfectly.

I'm just wondering what I'm missing here or who I should call at least besides regular eBay customer service.

Has anyone else had this issue? Thanks.

Message 1 of 17
latest reply
16 REPLIES 16

Re: 1099K doesn't match Financial Statement

1099 shows gross sales (purchase price + shipping) total amount that you received from the customer.   When you deduct business expenses be sure to include cost of  "shipping labels".

Message 2 of 17
latest reply

seems odd that some months are accurate....my only guess is that the "settlement dates" might be off some months by a day or two.....sale date, post date, and settlement date are 3 different events on differing days....

that would even affect the total for the year and account for a month being off by a specific amount....

seems like you have decent records.....does the discrepancy amount equal any combination of individual sales around the beginning or end of the month(s) that is/are wrong?