cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Antique Wood Bench or Saddle-Base ID help

I've had this stool for some years, but only took a closer look recently. I had somehow thought this was a Camel Saddle, however it doesn't much resemble any of the saddles I'm seeing online, and also I realized it's unlikely because the legs are too close together.  I haven't thought much of it, but again, recently I turned it over to explore the underside, expecting to see some screws from more recent times, though what I'm seeing are perhaps, tacks? Does anyone have any insight into what this was used for, or when it was made?

Thanks

stool1.jpgstool2.jpgstool3.jpgstool4.jpgstool5.jpg

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

I'm no expert, but I would think  that "tacks" underneath possibly denote that there was once an upholstered cushion on top, the tacks fastening the cover to the bottom.

Good luck! 😎

Message 2 of 13
latest reply

@mobileman67 wrote:

I'm no expert, but I would think  that "tacks" underneath possibly denote that there was once an upholstered cushion on top, the tacks fastening the cover to the bottom.

Good luck! 😎

It looks too primitive to me to ever have had an upholstered top.  OP - what are the dimensions?  

Rita

Message 3 of 13
latest reply

I wouldn't think someone would put a saddle on something so beat up.  But then, not everone can afford a good saddle stand.

Good Moms let you lick the Beaters.

Great Moms turn them off first.
Message 4 of 13
latest reply

no clue what it was made for, but it definitely looks like it was made for a specific purpose...

Message 5 of 13
latest reply

American, 19th century and I think it is a specific use harness makers bench missing the "ears". The ears should be mounted in the other direction though.

Message 6 of 13
latest reply

I think it's some sort of workbench, too, and harness-maker's is as good an idea as any.