cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bought something expensive but seller has no feedback, ships from China.. worried it's a scam

I'm new to ebay and I placed an order  on an RTX 4080 going for $657.00 ($715 after shipping and taxes) This is far below market price for this graphics card (Usually $1000 to $1200).

I thought maybe it was a scam but under the "Shipping, returns, and payments" tab it says:

-------------------

Return policy

After receiving the item, contact seller within 30 days
Refund will be given as Money Back
Return shipping Buyer pays for return shipping

--------------

And looking at eBay's return policy looked like I could return it and I figured they must just hold on to the money until after the return period.. but I'm not sure any more.

Any advice from the people who have more experience with eBay than I do? I suspect it's easier to cancel now than go through return policy. And I'm not sure if I have to worry about eBay siding with seller either.

Just placed order within last few hours.  Thanks!

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Bought something expensive but seller has no feedback, ships from China.. worried it's a scam

The zero feedback isn't necessarily a problem. Although new sellers, including honest ones,  make lots of foolish mistakes.

As sellers we usually advise newbies not to sell expensive items, but to wait until they have some experience under their belt.
I usually say not until you have at least 10 DSRs, know what DSRs are, and why DSRs are utterly unimportant.  Which takes a while.

The overseas location isn't necessarily a problem. Although you should remember that your duty free allowance is only $800 and I think that may include shipping cost.

The Return policy is a problem because it may contravene the Money Back Guarantee.

Return shipping: Buyer pays for return shipping