cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dime Novels and the Cheap Book Boom

Dime Novels and the Cheap Book Boom by Rachel Rosenberg

"The history of dime novels tells the story of how cheap books led to increased literacy in the working classes. Until I began researching this post, I thought dime novels were the same thing as pulp fiction (false). I’d heard of them, vaguely, but never really learned anything about them — surprising, considering I have an English literature degree and am a library professional. This oversight is a real shame, considering that these books helped to pioneer genre writing such as pulp fiction and detective novels. You have probably even heard of their England-based equivalent, which had the much sexier name of ‘penny dreadfuls’.

Dime novels in America began to appear around the early 1860s, and their cheap, booklet-like composition made the act of owning books more accessible to a broader range of people. At a cost of 5–15¢ each, reading wasn’t just for the aristocracy anymore. The price helped the books into the hands of the working class; before this, regular books sold for $1–1.50, which was completely unaffordable for them.

Their pages were filled with formulaic-if-enthralling tales of rollicking adventures. Their short length — the books were printed on cheap, lightweight paper — helped to get them into people’s hands (and back pockets). In the beginning, they were especially popular with bored Civil War soldiers, many of whom read the books during mundane moments at camp..."

Read More:
https://bookriot.com/dime-novels/?fbclid=IwAR0toJlPUHajefiTEu0WYG51b-MzKYqECZJvVqLHDjvvCTEzg-6QTw1Fw...

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

Thanks for sharing this, it's always a pleasure to learn about a book genre which I knew nothing about. 

The article includes a link to The American Women's Dime Novel, which has a fantastic cover gallery, nine pages of 24 books each. Great covers and artistry.