cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shipping Question: Can you use the free USPS priority mail boxes to ship first class?

I've been selling on Ebay for almost two months using the free boxes that you can get from USPS to ship "First Class 3-5 day"  I encountered an issue when I sent a package from California to Texas, the buyer was saying that USPS would not release the item to them unless they paid an additional $9.99  because of using the "priority mail box" (free boxes from USPS) for a First Class shipping.  The item is under 13 oz and I haven't encountered any problems like this so far.  I called Ebay customer service and the representative told me everything should be fine just give them the option of filing a return or keeping the product.  I kept telling the representative that USPS wont release the item to them unless an additional 9.99 is paid.  Ebay told me that shouldn't be the case. I'm getting conflicting answers.  I don't usually do returns since I'm selling my collection off to pay the bills but i filed a return for the customer in this case.  

So my question is has any seller encountered and issue with using the USPS free boxes for shipping First Class 3-5days delivery? 

Or is this person just regretting their purchase and just wants to return the item for a refund?

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Shipping Question: Can you use the free USPS priority mail boxes to ship first class?

@jcwrestler   Your buyer is telling you the truth. USPS Priority Mail branded boxes can only be used for Priority Mail, never for First Class (or any other service). You've been very lucky that USPS hasn't caught you before now. 

Send the buyer a refund to cover the extra cost being rightfully charged by USPS.

tree*fern
Volunteer Community Mentor

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

Re: Shipping Question: Can you use the free USPS priority mail boxes to ship first class?