cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shipping adjustment from UPS

eBay sent me an email that UPS was assigning additional shipping charges due to my package being overweight. When I dropped my package off at a UPS store, they gave me a receipt showing that I had indeed purchased all needed shipping for the weight. UPS said I need to co-ordinate with eBay on getting a refund. How do I do this?

Message 1 of 32
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

I just experienced this for the first time, it is a SCAM by UPS and E-Bay seems to willingly participate.  

First, I am an engineer.  I precisely measure things all day long, every day, for the past 30 years.

I shipped a metal sign via UPS as a 29x19x3 box.  The actual packaging was 29.375" x 18.5" x 3.25" (I have 20 more of this same box at home).  Per UPS's policy, if the package is X.0 to X.499, you round down.  X.5-X.999, you round up.  So the entered dimensions on E-Bay should have been 29x19x3.

So UPS delivered the package and then TWO WEEKS after the package had been delivered, I get a notice of a UPS shipping adjust.  It states my package is 30x18x4 and instead of weighing 4 pounds, is now 13 pounds because of dimensional weight, which doubled the cost of the label.   They did the exact opposite with every dimension, than what their rule states!

And of course, the person who received the item TWO WEEKS ago, no longer has the box.  There is no easy way to dispute this with E-Bay.  And even if I did, it will just be denied, because my only proof is to show them a different box other than the one actually used to ship.  I can't produce the original box with label, which I am told I will have to provide to UPS as proof.

This is all a SCAM.  UPS is such a crappy company after changes over the past several years, that I hope they go bankrupt and close.  Boo on E-Bay for just rolling over to them!