cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"oh darn! I gave you the wrong address"

Ok, so, I've been selling on eBay for about 3 months and never had this problem all my packages always get  there.

My account is a new (3 month old) account however so I have recently graduated from eBay/PayPal's "funds availability" program, having sold almost $4k in sales.

My ebay account is in excellent standing - no returns, no negative feedback, and only two defects due to having to cancel and refund what were questionable scammy buyers.

So, I sold an item on the 15th to a buyer who checked out as a "eBay/paypal guest" so they don't have any feedback - but they paid immediately and I shipped the item (an expensive laptop) with USPS delivery confirmation, insurance for the full item's value and signature confirmation.

Today I checked the USPS tracking for this item that was supposed to be delivered today, and it says "item undeliverable- wrong address."

Great, guess now I can count the money being held by PayPal for this transaction as dead considering now it can't be delivered and the funds released because the buyer gave me the wrong address and of course Paypal needs to see "delivered" to release the funds to me.

So I contact them through eBay and they send me a message saying "oh darn, my address is actually - not - sorry! I was wondering why the delivery truck kept going round and round"

So...now I have to go through the hassle of calling the USPS, waiting for my item to be sent back to me, and then refunding the buyer once I get it, no way i trust them to give me the correct address again, I do not intend on playing a tennis game with this buyer.

In the case that they are attempting some sort of "item not received scam" where they (might) attempt to file a charge back with PayPal before the item is returned to me, do I have any recourse? It shouldn't be my fault that I shipped to an undeliverable address that the buyer gave me.