cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Seller, need advice on cancelling transaction b/c of scam

I think I just encountered my first scam and need some advice to help handle the situation...

Context: So I'm selling headphones, listed as "buy it now or best offer" and got an offer around $30 more than the listed price, so I got excited but was a little suspicious of it. I accepted the offer and the buyer asked for me to contact them via text so I did. It was going ok until they asked for my paypal email, which was weird because they could pay through ebay. I gave my email but also said to pay through ebay instead. They agreed, but then they said they were going to add around $500 in payment so that I could buy gift cards for them. Immediately I knew something was wrong so I told them I was not going to buy giftcards and that I was cancelling the transaction. 

This is my first time having to cancel a transaction so I'm a little confused as to how it works and would really appreciate if I could get some advice on it.

I clicked cancel order and said how I was asked to buy a bunch of gift cards, and it said I had to wait for the buyer to respond. I highly doubt a scammer will respond to the cancel order, so I'm a little worried/confused about what's going to happen. It said that the case will automatically be closed in 7 days if the buyer doesn't respond, but I found some other pages saying something about how it actually takes 30 days for cases to be resolved? And the buyer hasn't paid me, but most information I could find was about how to cancel transactions where they already paid.

How long will I have to wait for the case to be closed, (assuming the buyer never responds) and or when will I be able to relist the item?

Will I even be able to relist the item again?

How is this going to affect me as a seller?