cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sales Tax on eBay

Hi all,

I sell philatelic items during my free time on eBay. But I am not a professional seller. I just have a basic account and not a business account.

For the first time in my selling career, after selling some items to a buyer located in Minnesota, and preparing the invoice so that he can send me the payments, I saw that I need to charge the buyer a Sales Tax of 7.13%.

Now, I live outside of the USA. Should I still pay these taxes? I am already paying taxes on the eBay sales, whenever necessary, to the Government of the country where I am located.

Could somebody please enlighten me about this issue. This is the first time I am facing this problem.

Regards

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Sales Tax on eBay

@mau-collectibles-4 wrote:

Hi all,

I sell philatelic items during my free time on eBay. But I am not a professional seller. I just have a basic account and not a business account.

For the first time in my selling career, after selling some items to a buyer located in Minnesota, and preparing the invoice so that he can send me the payments, I saw that I need to charge the buyer a Sales Tax of 7.13%.

Now, I live outside of the USA. Should I still pay these taxes? I am already paying taxes on the eBay sales, whenever necessary, to the Government of the country where I am located.

Could somebody please enlighten me about this issue. This is the first time I am facing this problem.

Regards

@mau-collectibles-4:

No,  you don't have to pay those taxes, the buyer has to pay them. The buyer owes sales taxes to his state of Minnesota, and eBay is required to collect the sales tax and send it to the state.