cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Offers same price as item - most likely a scam should I counter? will it hurt my rating?

I'm new to ebay.

I'm getting offers for items at the price I'm asking from accounts that are new (< couple days) and buyer has no rating.

I believe these are scams.  If I don't reply to the offer will my rating be dinged?  Do I reply with "this is the asking price.  Please proceed with normal process for buying item and decline. "

I have another case where I accepted the offer (which was asking price) and now the buyer wants me to call them before completing the purchase.  Again new buyer, no ratings, etc.  I also believe this is a scam.   What happens if I don't reply to their email.  Or do I reply with "I only communicate through ebay" and what happens if they give me a bad rating as a result.

Any guidance you can provide would be appreciated

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

Offers same price as item - most likely a scam should I counter? will it hurt my rating?

You have only been on eBay as a seller for about 3 weeks so you are going to attract the scammers. Given the items you are selling quit using best offer and stay with fixed priced items with immediate payment required until you have built up some feedback and are more familiar with how eBay works. I have been selling for a long time and have not used OBO in years simply because I don't have the time for it. 

View Best Answer in original post

Message 6 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Turn off best offers.

You don't need to respond to offer, but best offer on a new account is a scammer target.

Turn off best offers. 

Don't even think about turning them back on until you have 20 feedback.