cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Guidance: Buyer gave negative feedback with Box Damage Refund Scam

Hi, All!

I have been selling on eBay periodically for 10 years, with 300 reviews and 100% positive feedback since the beginning. Never a bad review.

Here is the situation for which I am looking for some guidance: 

• Several days ago, I sold a $17 Lego set. Shipping was USPS Priority Mail for $12.
  • It was packed very well in a sturdy box with an ample amount of bubble wrap.
  • It was delivered to the Buyer in Michigan on time.
  • Earlier today (Wednesday, December 18th), I got a request for a refund from the Buyer. He claims the Lego box was severely damaged. 
  • The Buyer also gave me negative feedback at the same time he requested the refund. I had no opportunity to correct the problem before getting the negative feedback.
  • I requested pictures of the damaged box, and he sent me a picture of the damaged contents, the Lego box, not the exterior shipping box. (Please see pictures, attached.)
  • When I told him I needed pictures of the shipping box in order to start the USPS insurance process (via the Priority Mail insurance), he sent me additional pictures.
  • The problem is, the pictures the Buyer sent me of the damaged shipping box are NOT of the box I used to ship this Lego set. The box for which he sent pictures has Priority Mail tape on it (which I don't have), and is far too big for the product I sent. It is also a box from Amazon competitor Jet, and it is NOT the box I used. (Again, please see the pictures.)
  • After seeing the shipping box pictures and realizing that they were not of the box I shipped to him, and thinking that this looks like a refund scam, I then requested from the Buyer a picture of the shipping label I sent him actually adhered to the damaged box.