cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cashier's Checks?

I've been selling on Ebay for over 20 years .... and over time I've accepted a lot of different forms of payment.  But for quite a few years it's been only Paypal.  And now that eBay "transitioned" me over to managed payments last fall....... it's my understanding that as a seller of small trinkets and vintage toys/dolls, that I have no control or opinion over how my buyers pay.  eBay collects the money from them, lets me know when they have paid, and then eBay deposits the money in my bank account some amount of time after the transaction is completed.

So if a potential buyer writes me asking if I am willing to accept cashier's checks, the answer is "I have no control over that, please ask eBay what payment they accept."  ?  Right?  Asking for advice on what is the right way to answer that question.  Thanks for your help.

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

Cashier's Checks?

Well, no, cashiers checks can be faked.  Plus they woould take too long to arrive.

Many many years ago, that's how eBay was run.

Good Moms let you lick the Beaters.

Great Moms turn them off first.
Message 2 of 15
latest reply

Cashier's Checks?

Right?

Right.

Cashier's Checks?

A few categories are allowed for cashier's checks.  Vintage toys/dolls isn't one of them.  It has not changed from Paypal.

https://www.ebay.com/help/policies/payment-policies/payment-methods-policy?id=4269

“The most common way people give up their power is by thinking they don’t have any.”
— Alice Walker

#freedomtoread
#readbannedbooks
Message 4 of 15
latest reply

Cashier's Checks?

I think you can accept them for local pickup. But would rather go with cash or maybe just pay through eBay.

To much can go wrong otherwise.

Message 5 of 15
latest reply

Cashier's Checks?