cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer wants me to ship to Nigeria?!?

Sorry if I've posted this in the wrong place, but this is my first time selling on eBay. I just "sold" an iPad Pro, and the buyer said in very broken english that I have to send it to his son in Nigeria? I know I selected "No International Shipping" during setup. 

He says that PayPal has a hold on the money until I ship with a tracking number, but when I go to PayPal I don't see anything on hold. I received an email in my spam folder that looks legit basically verifying what he says (money on hold, address to send it too), but all other email communication from PayPal that I've received has never  gone to spam. 

Everything about it just screams scam. I'm a first-time seller... what do I do?

Message 1 of 16
latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

SCAM! File an UNPAID ITEM CLAIM in 48 hours, and follow through with it.

Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.
Message 2 of 16
latest reply

. I received an email in my spam folder that looks legit..

It is fake.  This is one of the oldest scams on the site.  One could suppose that much of the Nigerian's electronics that they stole over the years have become outdated, and they need to re-supply. 

Message 3 of 16
latest reply

So what can I do? I sent them an eBay message asking them to cancel the order as I "can't ship that far". 

Can I cancel the transaction and re-list? Do I need to wait 48 hours for the claim?

Message 4 of 16
latest reply

It's a scam. As one member said file in 48 hours of no payment and block the buyer.

Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things.
Message 5 of 16
latest reply

How do I block? I don't see that as an option on their profile page. 

Message 6 of 16
latest reply

It is a SCAM.

Have no more contact with this "buyer". They are not a buyer, they are a scammer. You are NOT going to get paid.