cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buyer Wants Refund from USPS

Hello everyone.  I haven't been on the Boards for a long time, not selling much and working full time.  I recently sold a video game figure.  Sure maybe a risky category but not too worried.  I'm not a newbie.  The USPS sent the package all the way from Las Vegas to  Maine back to California where the buyer was.  He never asks about the package, the tracking was obvious for 9 long days.  But the day he gets it he writes that his son opened the package and the foot was broken.  Now, it is entirely possible that the package was damaged during its whirlwind US tour.  But the guy says, I talked to the USPS and I know it's insured so how do I get a refund?  I replied, I have to submit the claim, I will refund your money.  I will ask ebay to send you a lable.

3 days laterand no response.  I feel strongly it's a phony claim but now I'm wondering, what if he's waiting for me to send him a lable.  Or don't you think if he wasn't scamming he would have written me back or filed a case?  What should I do?

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

label, sorry
Message 2 of 11
latest reply

Tell the buyer to open up a case to return the item.

And once he does you will send him a shipping label.

Sounds like the buyer may have opened up too many cases and wants to do this off of ebay's radar.  Do not accomodate him

Do nothing until he opens the case.

Message 3 of 11
latest reply

@neneland2012

I would not do a thing at this point, insurance is for the seller, as you told them.

They have ebay MBG to cover them.

Message 4 of 11
latest reply

Why not simply provide the same great customer service you would provide if you had not decided the buyer was not being honest?