cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does ebay authenticate your brand name items before you sell?

Hello!  I'm new to selling, well it's been many moons since I last sold on ebay.  I recently posted a Michael Kors item which I had authenticated through them directly.  I do have some other brand name items I'd like to sell.  Does ebay have a service that I can use to authenticate any items?  I was once told there was a website that will look at pictures and authenticate. Do you all have any advice?  Thanks!

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

eBay does not offer pre-sale authenticators. 

Even you having an item authenticated will not help your sales or return.

All the buyer has to say is "not as described" and no matter what paperwork you have they will get their money back. 

Advice for you as a new seller - #1 do not sell anything you cant afford to give away.

klhmdg  •  Volunteer Community Mentor
Message 2 of 6
latest reply

Thank you!  Are the luxury brands listed on the website?  I couldn't find it.  Also, the link you shared, was that supposed to be something else?

Message 3 of 6
latest reply

Thank you, appreciate it.  You brought up something I hadn't thought of, if the seller does say "not as described", they do need to return it correct?

Message 4 of 6
latest reply

As stated by @klhmdg , eBay does not offer pre-authentication services. The authentication services for luxury brands are only after the sale.  The seller will ship the item to the authenticator, who will then ship to the buyer (or will return to the sender if it is a fake or fails to match the description).

https://www.ebay.com/help/selling/selling-tools/ebay-authenticity-guarantee?id=4644