cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

friendly thoughts for chanel..coach..other designer "authenticators"

First of all thank you to the many authenticators out there that are a tremendous help to newbie sellers.

What makes you so great is that you tell us "Why" something isn't real.

And thats what I would like to politely say to the rest of you "authenticators"...

Simply posting comments like "It's a fake." "obvious fake"(may be obvious to you who look at chanel coach etc a thousand times but not to the person who may see a piece of chanel once in a lifetime.

If you are going to tell someone it is a fake...please tell us why.

I have been selling for about 7 years and have had only 5 pieces of chanel in my hands...of which only 2 were real.Since they were all totally different items what I learned from the one did not apply to the others.So unless I find another black sequin runway top I still couldn't tell you if a piece of chanel is authentic..so I depend on authenticaters for their help...not just to say "it's a fake"

Special thanks here to albertabrightalberta and genemaat.

They don't just say..Fake..take it back..Obvoius Fake etc...they provide really great explantions..thanks

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

I just want to comment on the "why" of something being fake.

There are some authenticators here and on other forums who are reluctant to be too specific about why items are fake because that information can either help counterfeiters make better fakes as well as let dishonest sellers know what parts NOT to show in their listings.

Unfortunately, there are many sellers who know exactly what type of shyte they're peddling and they know that hardware markings, fonts, date codes, serial numbers, linings, etc. are crucial parts necessary to the authentication process. So often, those sellers will show the parts but purposely take pics that are too blurry or too far away for an accurate authentication.