cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Identifying a maker's mark on a plastic/lucite bangle

I got this bangle in a box of miscellaneous jewellery and the design is intriguing - I don't think it is just regular cheap plastic, it has a dull 'clack' against my teeth and where the dots are is slightly raised - not sure if that helps.  It has a maker's mark which I haven't been able to identify, next to it is possibly a materials label? but it's unreadable.  TBH, I'm just learning about jewellery since I got this box so my knowledge isn't great. I'll be gone today at a running event but back again in the evening so if I don't check in until then, that's why.  Thanks for any help!  

P1400088.jpg

P1400089a.jpg

When you dine with leopards, it is wise to check the menu lest you find yourself as the main course.

#freedomtoread
#readbannedbooks
Message 1 of 9
latest reply
1 BEST ANSWER

Accepted Solutions

@wesk_36 

This particular designer Carlos Sobral ( as in OPs piece) uses Polyester resin and not bakelite. Ron and Esther Shultz uses old bakelite pieces from the midcentury in their jewelry.

View Best Answer in original post

Message 7 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Sorry - wrong board - I see there's a jewellery board and I'll ask here.  I didn't know there was one.

When you dine with leopards, it is wise to check the menu lest you find yourself as the main course.

#freedomtoread
#readbannedbooks
Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Bakelite?

-------------
Posting ID
Message 3 of 9
latest reply

@chapeau-noir.   Hi Chap! Well I'm going to give you something to chew on as well as how to test for bakelite. 

Shultz bakelite artists, Ron and Esther are the present day masters of these types of bangles using old 30s-40s bakelite pieces. Yours is very much their style. 

Unfortunately I don't have the time to research their modern day logo but looking at the pics from you, I can see an S.   Cross your fingers that it's these artists!