cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is switching free 3 day priority mail shipping (as listed) to UPS ground (after the sale) legal

I am a  20+ year life-time ebay account holder with excellent feedback history.   I have purchased cars, major high-end appliances, collector items, electronics, commodities and hundreds of other items on eBay.  Overwhelming majority of which were good smooth transactions and only a very few problematic ones.  I had to learn to really read and absorb listings in a literal way as it was our only communication between seller and buyer.   I also had to learn to be responsible, tolerant, and focused upon my performance as a buyer to encourage good transaction result from the seller.   eBay is a platform of contract offer/solicitation whether it be in an auction, BIN and/or special terms.  I will confess now that I am a retired small manufacturing business owner (brick and mortar type) .  I have held many positions from estimator, spec writer,  engineer, purchasing agent, salesperson, owner/employer and contract manager.  

Now my problem:  As an eBay buyer, I’m noticing more BIN sellers are including free shipping which I consider a good sales tool.  Convenient quick economical shipping services are an important element to my purchase choice.  I also consider my shopping time to make that choice as valuable.    My concern is this:  there seems to be a lot more sellers who list free shipping and they offer this free shipping as the more attractive quick shipper Priority Mail - which works great for smaller items that can be flat rate.  However the actually ship some slightly larger items via a much cheaper (and time consuming) UPS Ground method claiming sold items cannot be fit into a flat rate USPS PMail box.   Most of us buyers know that most any item could still be shipped PMail, it just wouldn’t be flat rate and probably fairly expensive.