cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Art DVD's Totally Hooked.Who do u like?

madame.b.wishful
Enthusiast
I'm completely a self taught artist. Not by choice 🙂 Anyhow I joined the Colorado Plein Air group where artist meet at a location and paint outdoors (landscapes) from life. Good Grief! Quite intimidating because... I'm new to oils, never have done much with landscapes and normally I use reference photos... It was only until recently that I started painting from life. I was a nervous wreck out there! So I ended up buying some art DVD's from artist I admire like Richard Schmid, Quang Ho ect. What a life saver! I finally feel like I at least know how to begin. Have any of you become DVD / book junkies? and which artists book/ dvd did you enjoy most? Laura
Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

I've never purchased an instructional DVD. A lot of them are very expensive, and I know that I probably wouldn't have the attention span (or the time) to sit down and watch all the way through. I am, however, a major book junkie. I buy books and books and books. I couldn't even name a favorite. I just keep buying them. I like having quick reference materials handy, color mixing charts, and so on. Some of my favorites are books on acrylics, that show some of the really unique abstract looks you can create with that medium. No matter how hard I try, I can't learn watercolours from a book, or even from live instruction. That's a trial and error thing for me. Sometimes self-taught can be a good thing. You're learning your own techniques, and not some teacher's idea of what you should be doing. My experiences with classes have not been good, so self-taught works for me. -- Kathy

Kathy
Message 2 of 12
latest reply

madame.b.wishful
Enthusiast